Hatha Yoga | The Yoga of Force

Published: Mar 3, 2021 | Updated: Mar 3, 2021

Hatha Yoga | The Yoga of Force

Haṭha Yoga is probably the best known type (or modality) of Indian Yoga, and it’s widely popular, not only in India but also across the globe. The word “Haṭha” in India can point to different things according to context, Indian language, or dialect, such as force, forceful, willful, violence, obstinacy, stubbornness, necessity, unexpected gain, killing, blow, among other meanings.

Nevertheless, it’s generally accepted that in the context of Hatha Yoga it rather means “the Yoga of Force” or “the Yoga of Will,” pointing to its more physical methods and techniques, compared to many other forms of Indian Yoga.

The earliest references to Hatha Yoga are found in Tantric Buddhist texts as from the 8th century CE. Around the 11th century, Hatha Yoga got more form and outline in a series of texts, although it was still very much associated with techniques that focused on meditation and achieving spiritual enlightenment, instead of the much more down to earth physically focused Hatha Yoga we know today around the world.

The Hatha Yoga practice primarily consists of performing Asanas (Yogic postures and positions), Pranayama (breathing practices), Mudras, Bandhas, and Meditation, and focuses on mastery of the body, which also includes working with the Chakras, Kundalini energy, Yoga Nadis (energy channels) and Marma points (energy points).

Today, Hatha Yoga is very often only practiced as a form of physical exercise, although, depending on lineages, teachers and practitioners, Hatha Yoga may be practiced for physical, mental and emotional healing, spiritual progress, including being a means to profound meditation and finally liberation and self-realization.

eBook - Traditional Asian Self-Care & Self-Healing eBook - Traditional Chinese Medicine eBook - Tantric and Taoist Massage and Bodywork

Related Articles

The Indian Yoga Nadis | Prana Energy Channels

Pranayama | Yogic Breath Control

The Chakras | Prana Transformation and Distribution Centers

Kundalini Yoga – Awakening the Muladhara Chakra

Tantras, Yantras, Mantras, and Mandalas

What Is Tantric Breathwork?