Dhatus | Saptadhatu in Ayurveda Medicine

Published: Aug 15, 2021 | Revised: Feb 16, 2023
Edited by: Marce Ferreira

Dhatus | Saptadhatu in Ayurveda Medicine

One of the core concepts in Ayurveda is the recognition of seven fundamental substances, called the Seven Dhatus or Saptadhatu, which support the basic structure and functioning of the body, both for physical and psychological health.

These Dhatus are associated with lymph or plasma (rasa), blood (rakta), muscles (mamsa), fat (medha), bones (ashti), bone marrow and nerves (majja) and reproductive fluid (shukra), the latter being sperm and ovum.

The Dhatus are thought to be composed of the Ayurvedic Five Elements, the so-called Pancha Bhoota. As such, the Dhatus have a direct relationship with the Doshas.

The Dhatus respond to the state of the Doshas. When the Doshas are out of balance they affect the Dhatus, which can become either deficient or excessive. Subsequently, illness can occur.

Related Articles
More related articles in: Ayurveda